Truth for Today: I AM ENOUGH

Happy Tuesday Everyone! 

I know that today is supposed to be “Tasty Tuesday” but I have to share something that’s been heavy on my heart with you all today…

Can I just be honest with you all? There were times when I beat myself up about every little thing, my mistakes, shortcomings and even some accomplishments. I know it may sound foolish but I often have to remind myself that I am enough. Sometimes I look back and think about all of the goals I was supposed to have accomplished by now and the life that I had all planned out and beat myself up over it. My life is nothing like I planned at 18, I didn’t get to go to my dream school, switched my major and  no longer excited about living my life long dream of being a news anchor, didn’t stay with the guy I was head over hills for and the list goes on and on. Since those things didn’t work out I just picked up the pieces and moved on the best way that I could.

I remember one night sitting in bed thinking about how different my life is from my peers and began to be ungrateful because nothing went as I planned. As I began to be bitter and discontent God spoke to me and said ” You’re mad that nothing worked according to your plan but everything that you thought you lost of didn’t get to experience was because that’s not what I have for you” I started to wipe the tears from my eyes and pull myself together. I had been beating myself up for years over a life that God didn’t have for me, over something so small as not getting into Hampton when I had the opportunity to study at other universities. I had thought for years that I wasn’t good enough for certain things because I didn’t come from the best neighborhood in Atlanta, GA or a family with money and higher education.

It wasn’t until that night that God spoke to me that I realized that I am good enough. God began to show me that it doesn’t matter if you’re not where you thought you were going to be, been the places you thought you would go or even be the person you thought you were going to be, just because he chose you; you are enough! Now when those feeling of inadequacy come up I am quick to remind myself that I AM ENOUGH! I no longer waste time throwing a pity party because I know that what God has for me is far more important than the plans I have for myself.

So I want to encourage you today to tell yourself as often as possible that you are enough! No matter what happened five, ten years ago or even what happened last week when God chose to give you life he made you good enough!

I hope that everyone has a safe and blessed day!

#PeaceDuringtheJourney

27 thoughts on “Truth for Today: I AM ENOUGH

  1. I have learned in life that everything happens the way that it should, whether a person understands it or not. The Bible says “All things work together for the good of those who love God, and who are called according to His purpose.” This tells me that there is something good in every situation; even in the bad. The way to see what is good in the bad; a person must look for it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is beautiful wrote, Sometimes bin life, God mves us from people & worldly things, in order to restore us for something big & bettet. Thnks for sharing this with u, I enjoyed reading your post. Wanda

    Like

  3. Beautiful post!! I so agree, that no matter where one is in Life, in THAT moment, that one is enough and SO Loved by God. When that one comes to Love Self, that one has come full circle. Peace. (((HUGS))) Amy

    Like

  4. Pingback: Happy Monday! | Peaceduringthejourney

  5. Pingback: Midweek Motivation: One Day I Got Up | Peaceduringthejourney

  6. Great post. You should read “You are more than enough” by Judi Moreo … She has a great workbook that goes with it too.
    Hugs … You are MORE than enough!
    Lisa

    Like

  7. I LOVE this! You ARE good enough! It’s so hard to believe this sometimes, isn’t it? I hope many many people stop by and read your words – they are perfect! And you are beautiful! Oh – and thanks for liking my blog, which led me to yours. I look so forward to reading your posts ❤

    Like

  8. The hardest part for me was accepting that the work that God sees us doing on our souls is far more important than the work that people see us doing in the world. Sometimes the two things are related, and sometimes they aren’t. Believe me, I know that for sure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

